Northern Oral Language and Writing Through Play

Home » Researchers


Principal Investigator:

Project Director

Dr. Shelley Stagg Peterson

Shelley, a former elementary teacher in rural Alberta, has examined students’ writing development and writing assessment in her research. Working with northern Ontario teachers as co-researchers, she has explored ways to support Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal children’s oral language development.


Dr. Laureen J. McIntyre

Laureen J. McIntyre is an Associate Professor and Director of the Special Education Certificate program (an online teacher education program) in the Department of Educational Psychology and Special Education at the University of Saskatchewan. She completed a B.Ed. at the University of Saskatchewan, a M.Sc. in Communication Disorders at Minot State University, and a Ph.D. in Educational Psychology (specifically Special Education) at the University of Alberta.  Her research interests relate to how individuals with varied language and learning abilities are having their literacy needs met.

Dr. Eunice Jang 

Eunice, formerly an elementary teacher, has worked with teachers, school district consultants and policy makers to develop and evaluate the validity of an assessment framework for assessing, tracking, and supporting English language learners in curriculum-learning contexts that is currently used by Gr. 1-12 Ontario teachers.

Dr. Janette Pelletier 

Janette, also a former kindergarten teacher, is a recognized expert in early literacy development, family literacy with linguistically and culturally diverse families, and play-based programming in kindergarten and primary classrooms. Her research has informed Ontario’s move to implement Full-Day Early Learning Kindergarten.


Dr. Clare Brett

Dr. Laurie Hellsten-Bzovey

Dr. Jim Hewitt

Dr. Karen Rempel

Dr. Jean Paul Restoule


Ann Anderson
Jim Anderson
Resi Damhuis
Helen Hedges
Laura Horton
Susan Jones
Douglas Kaufman
Maureen Kendrick
Clare Kosnik
Eva Lindgren
Debra Myhill
Judith Margaret Parr
Marianne McTavish
Sharla Peltier
Dianne Riehl
Hyunjung Shin
Gisela Wajskop
Angela Ward
Dale Willows
Eefje van der Zalm

Post-doctoral Fellows:

Christine Portier (U. Toronto Team)
Nicola Friedrich (U. Toronto Team)
Yolanda Palmer-Clarke (U. Sask Team)

Digital Media Specialist:

Audrey Madsen

Data Manager:

Audrey Madsen

Student Researchers:

Alison Altidor Brooks
Nazila Eisazadeh
Kate Gibb
Denise Heppner
Soon Young Jang
Alesia Malec
Shakina Rajendram
Jayson San Miguel

Research Assistants:

Teresa Avery
Christine Balt
Melissa Beauregard
Sahar Borairi
Anita Cloutier
Heba Elsherif
Jade Kim
Miga Kim
Sabrina Kuah
Jeannie Larson
Audrey Madsen
Tori Madsen
Dean Marino
Lesley Marino
Sidney Masuga
Mama Nii Owoo
Charlene Pan
Allison Ritchie
Seb Roberts
Abby Sivalingam
Farkhonda Sultanee